Trump’s Travel Ban Blocked by US Federal Judge for the Third Time

Trump’s Travel Ban Blocked by US Federal Judge for the Third Time
Camilo Atkinson

In order to prevent potentially dangerous individuals from entering the United States, President Donald Trump and the Justice Department have attempted to pass a controversial travel ban (for the third time) that restricts citizens from eight different countries to enter the United States.

On Tuesday,  U.S. District Judge Derrick K. Watson from Hawaii largely blocked Trump’s latest attempt on his travel ban that was introduced in late September and was supposed to go into effect early this Wednesday.

Judge Derrick K. Watson, who also challenged the first and second travel ban attempts said, “It lacks sufficient findings that the entry of more than 150 million nationals from six specified countries would be ‘detrimental to the interests of the United States’, and it plainly discriminates based on nationality.”

Travel Ban Updated

Trump’s third version of the travel ban was meticulously crafted by the departments of Homeland Security, Defense, State, and Justice.

The update on the travel ban restricts travelers from five of the original nations listed in January—Somalia, Iran, Syria, Libya, and Yemen—and added three more countries to the ban—Chad, North Korea, and some government officials from Venezuela. Sudan and Iraq were removed from the list.

Watson’s order only affects the six majority-Muslim countries and does not include North Korea and Venezuela.

Trump is Ready to Fight Back

The White House released an official statement saying that Judge Watson’s “dangerously flawed order undercuts the President’s efforts to keep the American people safe and enforce minimum security standards for entry into the United States. These restrictions are vital to ensuring that foreign nations comply with the minimum security standards required for the integrity of our immigration system and the security of our nation.”

The decision from Judge Watson to block the travel ban is sure to be appealed by the Justice Department, but for now, the Trump administration will not be able to restrict the entry of citizens from six of the eight countries listed in the travel ban.

Comment Below

More in US-News

Cyber Monday Holiday Shopping Deals

Guide to Cyber Monday Deals for Holiday Shopping Success

Day NewsNovember 27, 2017

26 Dead in America’s Latest Mass Shooting

Brian OasterNovember 7, 2017
Investigators inspect a truck following a shooting incident in New York on October 31, 2017. 
Several people were killed and numerous others injured in New York on Tuesday after a vehicle plowed into a pedestrian and bike path in Lower Manhattan, police said. "The vehicle struck multiple people on the path," police tweeted. "The vehicle continued south striking another vehicle. The suspect exited the vehicle displaying imitation firearms & was shot by NYPD." / AFP PHOTO / DON EMMERT        (Photo credit should read DON EMMERT/AFP/Getty Images)

New York City Mayor Calls Truck Attack Act of Terror

Bernadine RacomaNovember 6, 2017

Middle-Class Americans to Face Tax Woes in the Near Future

Bernadine RacomaNovember 6, 2017

Possible CVS-Aetna Partnership. What this Means to You

Bernadine RacomaOctober 29, 2017

JFK Documents Released to Public–But Only Partially

Brian OasterOctober 27, 2017

Hurricane Relief Concert with Five Ex-U.S. Presidents

Bernadine RacomaOctober 22, 2017

Department of State Expels 15 Cuban Diplomats from Washington DC

Camilo AtkinsonOctober 4, 2017
Las Vegas Shooting

59 Dead in America’s Latest Mass Shooting

Brian OasterOctober 4, 2017